While it may seem surprising, slips and falls are the leading cause of emergency room visits. Lawsuits over these injuries are also some of the most common among personal injury cases.
But how can one prove liability in a slip-and-fall accident?
In general, property owners have a responsibility to maintain reasonably safe conditions of their premises. Thus, many slip-and-fall cases involve asserting that an owner neglected this responsibility.
For example, if you slipped on a wet surface in a grocery store, you may pursue a claim against the store for failing to put out a “wet floor” sign.
In this case, the grocery store neglected to warn you of a risk they should have reasonably foreseen.
It is likely that the grocery store in this situation would try to shift the fault on to you during the trial.
Connecticut has a comparative fault statute which allows the plaintiff to recover compensation for an injury so long as they are not more than 50% at fault for the accident. Otherwise, they may not receive any compensation at all.
This means that even if you shared some of the blame for your slip in the store—let’s say you were walking briskly because you were in a hurry—you can still recover damages from the store. However, your compensation will be modified based on your level of fault.
For example, if you were 10% at fault for the injury and your damages totaled $50,000, you would be able to recover only $45,000 for your injury. Thus, it is is important to prepare a strong case that minimizes your fault in the injury so that you can be made “whole” from the awarded compensation.
Hiring an attorney
Slips and falls can be serious injuries that cause lost wages, lasting physical pain and medical bills. If you’ve suffered from a slip-and-fall injury, you may want to contact an experienced personal injury attorney to advise you on your legal options.
It is also important to remember that in Connecticut, the statute of limitations for slip and fall accidents is two years.